Where can I find Bordier butter and cheeses?

Contact us by using the form that you can find on this page.

Find the closest sales point to your home

Why does the butter’s color vary?

Thanks to the seasons and what the cows eat!

The lovely, intense yellow color of summer butter is due to the chlorophyll and beta-carotene of fresh grass and meadow flowers that the cows graze on during the summer.  The texture is supple, tender, silky, and pleasant to work on.  The taste is powerful with hints of caramel.

The winter butter is ivory white.  Its texture is brittle, crumbly, grainy, and has a sweeter taste.

Thus, a butter that has the same color all year long can come from cows fed on corn.

What makes the quality of a good butter?

The combination of 4 factors:

The Terroir, the food and sociological territory is characterized by the soil, grass, rain, sun, geological history, and all of man’s food habits.

The Animal:  the cow’s food, it’s sensitivity, its breed, and the place where it lives (not all cows adapt to all climates).

The Dexterity:  the butter master reproduces ancestral movements to churn or knead the butter.  Today, it relies on advanced state-of-the-art techniques, but also a feeling, sensitivity, and subtle production.

The Season:  it modifies the animal’s feed, the color of the butter, the work and of course the length of the skirts of the girls who we give wildflowers to!

How to transport my butter?

We recommend placing your butter in the refrigerator or in a cooler with a block of ice as soon as you buy it.  Be careful about certain detours on the road which can vary the temperature of your butter – a stop at a store, sun shining through your car windows, contact with a hot roast chicken in a shopping bag, or food with a strong odor.

Contrary to common preconceptions, aluminum foil, even thick, or placing your butter in a vacuum pack does not protect it from temperature variations, only ultraviolet rays.

How long may I keep my butter?

If your butter has been kept at between 4 and 6°C (39.2 and 42.8°F) since the time you bought it, and has not suffered from great temperature variations or transportation, you may enjoy it until the best by date on the wrapper.  This indicates that the butter’s taste qualities will be the best until the date indicated.  Once this date is past, your butter may still be consumed, but will lose some of its aromatic properties little by little and be replaced by a more or less rancid taste.

How to store my butter ?

Butter suffers from successive temperature changes.

Refrigerate it in the vegetable crisper or in an airtight box, away from the other refrigerator smells.  To enjoy your butter, it’s always best to use only the quantity you need, and to put your butter right back into the refrigerator.

If you’d rather eat it cold, take it out of the fridge just before serving it.

If you prefer it at room temperature, do the same, but 30 minutes before serving.

Can butter be frozen?

We do not recommend it.  Butter remains safe after a period in the freezer, but its texture and taste can be altered.  This is because the water molecules contained in Bordier Butter become pointed when frozen and pierce the molecules of butterfat.

What is brown and black butter?

Brown butter is butter that turns golden brown when fried.

Black butter is a brown butter to which capers are added, which darken the butter so much that it looks almost black.

How to ideally enjoy butter ?

Butter is best on a slice of bread – it may be a sin, but it’s so good!  Just place the pat of butter on your bread rather than spreading it with a knife, which can change the butter’s texture.

At breakfast or for an afternoon snack, you may add jam, powdered chocolate or chocolate shavings, or even some sugar!  For example, try some of our yuzu butter with strawberry jam or vanilla butter with some shaved chocolate.

At lunch or dinner cocktails why not try some different flavored butters?  Let your guests try and guess the different flavors and choose their favorite.  The fun match-up of crusty breadsticks, a lovely carafe of dry white wine, and our butters is a cocktail party unto itself, even before your guests arrive!

Bordier Butter can also be enjoyed raw or melted on your favorite cooked or reheated food.  For more recipe ideas, log on to: Recipes

What is clarified butter?

Clarified butter is butter melted in a frying pan and cooled slightly, then strained through a fine-mesh chinois to eliminate the its impurities.  This operation prevents the clarified butter from burning when used in cooking.  Clarified butter, called ghee, is widely used in Indian cuisine.  It has come down to us from its use in the fertile crescent over 4000 years ago.  In Brittany, it was once poured into clay pots and kept for two years or even more.

What is the difference between raw and pasteurized milk?

Here are the different processes for milk (source:  EMS MAG, modified by La Fromagée Jean-Yves Bordier):

Raw Milk:  products are made exclusively from milk that is not heated to more than 40°C / 104°F, nor a higher temperature during an equivalent process.

Microfiltered Milk:  products are made exclusively from a mixture of raw, skimmed and microfiltered milk (strained through a filter with very fine membranes) and pasteurized milk or cream.

Thermized Milk:  products made exclusively from milk heated to a temperature beneath that of pasteurization, or between 40°C / 104°F and 72°C / 161.6°F for 15 seconds.

Pasteurized Milk:  products made exclusively from milk heated to at least 72°C / 161/6°F for 15 seconds or any equivalent combination thereof.

Pressed cooked cheese:  the manufacturing process includes heating the milk to a temperature of no less than 50°C / 122°F or above.

Why doesn’t Jean-Yves Bordier churn his own butter?

As in the 19th century, kneading the butter at room temperature (after churning) is for Jean-Yves Bordier a profession unto itself.  Over the course of the history of butter, the manufacturing always took place in several phases:

  • Milk production
  • Butter production: collecting the milk, skimming, and churning
  • Butter transformation: kneading the butter in the open air

Jean-Yves Bordier today is the sole butter master in France to perpetuate this unique skill:  kneading the butter.

What’s more, Jean-Yves Bordier has totally mastered his raw material – a great quality butter, churned in a nearby creamery, and taken from the milks, nearly all organic or from rational agriculture, that he chooses according to his specifications.

Why does Jean-Yves Bordier use butter made from pasteurized cream?

Jean-Yves Bordier uses pasteurized cream to avoid any risk of bacteria that could be present in raw butter.  Thanks to the kneading process, the taste of Bordier butter, even if it is pasteurized, has a great aromatic complexity that changes according to the seasons and the cows’ food.  The kneading process enables the taste to develop and express itself thanks to the oxygenation of the butter in the kneader.  “Butter is nature’s blotting paper.”

If Jean-Yves Bordier’s butter is organic, why doesn’t it have an organic label?

Each artisan makes his technical choices in his conscience with one goal in mind:  manufacture the best.  The maximum use of organic milk or that from rational agriculture is an obvious choice for Jean-Yves Bordier, who always wants to work with high quality ingredients, both in their production (according to his specs) as in their taste, which is not always the same.  “We should be labeling all the products that contain pesticides and chemical products!  It’s really a shame today that we have to have a label to state that we do our jobs well.”  Jean-Yves Bordier preaches for the human qualities in ingredients, and for an end to “hygienists trying to outdo each other.”

Why don’t we offer guided tours of our workshops to individual visitors?  

Unfortunately, our workshop is not open to the public for reasons linked to hygiene and safety, rules by which we must abide.

On the other hand, we can recommend visiting one of our shops where you will be able to talk to our teams if you wish, as well as see how semi-salted butter is kneaded.

In fact, at the Maison du Beurre in the old walled city of St. Malo, you will find a space dedicated to the history of butter, as well as how butter is shaped into packs.

We also have a restaurant, Autour du Beurre in the rue de l’Orme, whose menu is centered on our products.  If you are in the area, please feel free to stop by.

Où trouver le beurre et les fromages Bordier ?

Contactez-nous grâce au formulaire que vous trouverez sur cette page.

Découvrez le point de vente le plus proche de chez vous

Pourquoi la couleur du beurre varie-t-elle ?

Grâce aux saisons et à l’alimentation des vaches !

La belle couleur jaune intense du beurre d’été est due à la chlorophylle et au beta-carotène de l’herbe fraîche et des fleurs des champs que les vaches broutent en été. La texture est souple, tendre, soyeuse, très agréable à travailler. Le goût est puissant avec des notes de caramel.

Le beurre d’hiver, lui, est de couleur blanc ivoire. Sa texture est cassante, friable, granuleuse, et il a  un goût plus doux.

Ainsi, un beurre qui a la même couleur toute l’année peut provenir de vaches nourries au maïs.

 Qu’est-ce qui fait la qualité d’un bon beurre ?

La combinaison de 4 facteurs :

Le Terroir, territoire alimentaire et sociologique caractérisé par : le sous-sol, l’herbe, la pluie, l’ensoleillement, l’histoire géologique, et par l’ensemble des habitudes alimentaires des hommes.

La Bête : l’alimentation de la vache, sa sensibilité, sa race et son lieu de vie (toutes les vaches ne s’adaptent pas à tous les climats !).

Le Tour de Main : le beurrier reproduit des gestes  ancestraux pour baratter ou malaxer le beurre qui s’appuient aujourd’hui sur des avancées techniques pointues, mais aussi a un feeling, une sensibilité, une fabrication sensitive.

La Saison : elle modifie l’alimentation de l’animal, la couleur du beurre, le travail du, et bien sûr la langueur des jupes des filles auxquelles on offre les fleurs  des champs !

Comment transporter mon beurre ?

Nous vous conseillons de placer votre beurre au réfrigérateur ou dans un sac isotherme avec un pain de glace au plus vite après l’achat ! Attention à certains détours sur la route du retour qui peuvent faire vivre des variations de température à votre beurre : arrêt chez un commerçant, soleil à travers la vitre de votre voiture, contact avec un poulet chaud dans le panier de courses, ou encore odeurs mélangées …

Contrairement aux idées reçues, le papier aluminium, même épais, ou la mise sous-vide ne protègent pas des variations de température, mais seulement des rayons UV.

Combien de temps puis-je garder mon beurre ?

Si votre beurre a été bien conservé entre 4 et  6°C depuis votre achat, s’il n’a pas souffert des changements de température ou du transport, vous pouvez le déguster jusqu’à la date limite d’utilisation optimale indiquée sur l’emballage. Celle-ci indique que les qualités gustatives sont optimales avant la date indiquée. Après cette date, le beurre peut encore être consommé mais perdra peu à peu ses propriétés aromatiques pour développer un goût plus ou moins rance.

Comment conserver mon beurre ?

Le beurre souffre des changements de température successifs.

Conservez-le au réfrigérateur dans le bac à légumes ou dans une boîte hermétique, à l’abri des odeurs du réfrigérateur. Pour le consommer, l’idéal est de prélever la quantité dont vous avez besoin uniquement, et de remettre aussitôt votre plaquette au réfrigérateur.

Si vous le préférez frais, faites cette opération juste avant de le consommer.

Si vous préférez le beurre à température ambiante, faites de même, mais trente minutes avant de le déguster.

Peut-on congeler le beurre ?

Nous ne le conseillons pas. Le beurre reste sain après une période de congélation, mais sa texture et son goût peuvent en être altérés. En effet, les molécules d’eau contenues dans le Beurre Bordier se congèlent en forme de pointe, et viennent fracturer les molécules de matières grasses.

Qu’est-ce que le beurre noisette ? Et le beurre noir ?

Le beurre noisette est un beurre blondit sur la poêle.

Le beurre noir est un beurre noisette auquel on a ajouté des câpres qui colorent tellement le beurre qu’il fonce et apparaît comme noir.

Comment déguster le beurre ?

Le beurre s’apprécie tout simplement seul, sur du pain : c’est un pêché tellement c’est bon ! Veillez à juste poser le beurre sur votre pain, plutôt que de l’étaler au couteau, ce qui altère la texture du beurre.

Au petit déjeuner ou au goûter, vous pouvez lui rajouter une confiture, du chocolat en poudre ou en copeau, ou même du sucre ! Par exemple un beurre au yuzu avec une confiture de fraise, ou un beurre à la vanille avec des copeaux de chocolat.

Le midi ou le soir, proposez différents beurres parfumés pour un apéritif. Laissez vos invités deviner les différents parfums et définir leurs préférés. La rencontre ludique de flûtines croustillantes, d’un joli flacon de vin blanc minéral et droit, et de tous nos beurres, voilà un petit apéritif sympa, avant que rien n’arrive !

Le Beurre Bordier se mange également cru ou fondu sur un aliment qui vient d’être cuit ou réchauffé. Vous pourrez trouver nos propositions de  recettes sur la page : Les recettes

Qu’est-ce que le beurre clarifié ?

Le beurre clarifié est un beurre fondu à la poêle, refroidi légèrement puis passé au chinois pour éliminer les impuretés. Cette opération permet de ne pas brûler le beurre quand il est utilisé pour une cuisson. Le beurre clarifié est largement utilisé en Inde, où on l’appelle « Ghee ». Il trouve son origine dans le croissant fertile il y a 4000 ans. En Bretagne, il était auparavant coulé dans des pots de grés et pouvait se conserver deux ans voire plus.

Quelle est la différence entre le lait cru et le lait pasteurisé ?

Voici les différents traitements du lait qui existent : Texte de EMS MAG, avec modifications par La Fromagée Jean-Yves Bordier.

Le lait cru: les produits sont fabriqués exclusivement à partir de lait non chauffé au-delà de 40°C ni soumis à un traitement équivalent.

Le lait microfiltré: les produits sont fabriqués exclusivement à partir d’un mélange de lait cru écrémé et microfiltré (passage dans un filtre à très fines membranes) et de lait ou de crème pasteurisé.

Le lait thermisé: les produits sont fabriqués exclusivement à partir de lait chauffé à une température inférieure à la pasteurisation soit comprise entre 40°C et 72°C pendant 15 secondes.

Le lait pasteurisé: les produits sont fabriqués exclusivement à partir de lait chauffé à au moins 72°C pendant 15 secondes ou toute autre combinaison équivalente.

Fromage à pâte pressée cuite: le procédé de fabrication inclut une cuisson du lait à une température supérieure ou égale à 50°C.

Pourquoi Jean-Yves Bordier ne baratte-t-il pas son beurre ?

Tout comme au 19ème siècle, l’étape du malaxage à l’air libre (qui vient après le barattage), est pour Jean-Yves Bordier un métier à part entière. En effet, dans l’histoire du beurre, la fabrication a toujours été séquencée en plusieurs phases :

– La production laitière

– La  fabrication du beurre : collecte de lait, écrémage, barattage

– La transformation du beurre : le malaxage à l’air libre

Jean-Yves Bordier est le seul aujourd’hui en France à perpétuer ce savoir-faire unique : malaxer le beurre.

Par ailleurs, Jean-Yves Bordier maîtrise totalement sa matière première : un beurre de très grande qualité, baratté dans une laiterie voisine, à partir de son cahier des charges et de sa sélection de laits de la région, quasiment tous bio, ou issus de l’agriculture raisonnée.

Pourquoi Jean-Yves Bordier utilise-t-il un beurre fabriqué à base de crème pasteurisée ?

Jean-Yves Bordier utilise un beurre pasteurisé pour éviter tout risque bactériologique que peut présenter un beurre cru. Grâce au malaxage, le goût du beurre Bordier, même si il est pasteurisé, a une grande complexité aromatique, qui varie en fonction des saisons et de l’alimentation des vaches. En effet, le malaxage permet au goût de se développer, de s’exprimer, grâce à l’oxygénation du beurre dans le malaxeur. « Le beurre est le buvard de la nature »

Si le beurre de Jean-Yves Bordier est bio, pourquoi n’a-t-il pas de label bio ?

Chaque artisan fait des choix techniques en son âme et conscience en n’ayant qu’un seul but : fabriquer le meilleur. L’utilisation de lait bio ou issu d’agriculture raisonnée est une évidence pour Jean-Yves Bordier, qui a toujours voulu travailler avec des produits d’une qualité excellente, aussi bien par leur technique de production (cahier des charges), que par leur goût, ce qui ne va pas forcément de pair. « C’est tout ce qui est non bio que l’on devrait marquer.

C’est grave qu’aujourd’hui il faille dire que l’on fait bien son travail. » Jean-Yves Bordier prêche pour la qualité humaine des produits, l’arrêt de « la surenchère hygiéniste ».